The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The claim made by the memo that Appian Roadways company is better qualified to build the access roads than the Good Intentions Roadways company has certain questions that need to be answered.

The build quality of the two companies has been compared based on a section of two different roads. Now the first question arises as to whether the weather conditions in the two areas of the roads are similar or different. This is a very pertinent question as it makes a significant contribution to deciding whether the recommendation made by the vice-president should be agreed or whether it needs some changes to be made to it. Another question that arises is based on the hiring of a new quality control manager by the Appian roadways. The section of the road made by Appian roadways was built four years back so we can safely assume that the person in-charge of quality would have been different.

But the first question that has been asked mentions whether the conditions were same for the two sections. This is a general question as the companies building the roads should have looked at the weather conditions of the area where the section of the road was being built. Thus the presence of cracks and dangerous potholes in the section of road built by Good Intention Roadways shows the lack of the company's ability to make good quality roads. Another factor that disqualifies the Good Intention Roadways is the matter of time that took for the road to degrade. The road, built by Good Intention Roadways cracked and developed potholes in two years whereas the road built by Appian Roadways is still in good condition after four years. That is a very significant factor in the favor of the Appian roadways. This also answers the question whether the new quality-manager hired by Appian roadways is upto the task of maintaining the quality while building the roads.

In conclusion I would say that the recommendation put forward is sound in argument and that the board can safely go ahead with the recommendation of hiring Appian roadways in constructing the mall's access roads.