The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the vice president of the company, it is recommended that building constructions should be otherwise given to zeta constructions company and the reason for this is because it is perceived to have a stable workforce and that it cost less to maintain the buildings constructed zeta company. This argument is therefore flawed for this three reasons.

First of all, since the two new buildings are based in different, lets say zeta construction has its building located in a densely populated region and Alpha construction has its own building in an over populated area. or let's say Zeta building has its project built in a rural area while Alpha has its own in an urban Centre. The argument is weakened due to the fact that the region in which the buildings are not considered before taking the decision to award further project to Zeta construction company when it might have been economical to award it to Alpha construction company. For example, the cost of maintaining buildings in Ekiti state will be considerably lower than buildings in Lagos state, Nigeria

Secondly, having a stable workforce doesn't prove an indication that quality job will be delivered or that the job will be completed on time by Zeta construction company. Construction works does not necessarily need stable work force especially when it it has to do with manual labor. its mostly abundant and easily sourced especially when a big project is ongoing. For example, a company embarking on a construction work can easily source for labor within the local community which will not only reduce employment among the local but will make the project touch the lives of the local directly by providing a source of livelihood form them.

Lastly, what if the the overall cost of giving the project to Alpha construction is cost effective than Zeta construction? it is possible that the overall cost analysis of giving the construction work to Alpha construction could be way cheaper and cost effective than giving it to Zeta construction. we can't conclude so fast because it cost cheaper to maintain a building by Zeta construction. The overall cost of having those buildings might be economical with using Alpha construction company.

In conclusion, the argument to give the construction work to Zeta construction does not hold true except it can provide answers to the three questions above and provide more evidence.