The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing."During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter

The author of the argument attempt to establish a direct relation between the sleeping hour of the worker and job accident in the manufacturing company. However, the author fails to provide a substantiate evidences for his assumptions and which are unwarranted as well. Also, the author came up with the false analogy by comparing one manufacturing companies with another company which also seem not so satisfying.

Firstly, the author compares the Quoit Manufacturing with the Panoply Industries plant without giving any information about what type of industries they are. If the Quiot Manufacturing is a Cement Industry while Panoply Industries is a dairy industry, it is obvious that there is high risk to the job workers as cement industry has very risky jobs to do by the workers. However, we also need to look at various other parameters of the industries regarding the safety of the workers like safety policy, safety instruments like helmets, jackets, masks etc. provided by the industry. Also, there is a huge impact of the machinery on the safety of the workers. The machineries used by the industry have their on features. Some are equipped with a highly safety guidelines while some are not. For example, In a Furniture industry, the new saw machine has been introduced which automatically shuts down with even a slight touch of a human skin. Many of the industries are using these type of saw chain machines while some are using that previous ones with little safety.

Secondly, the author mentioned experts views regarding the job accidents, while even the experts views can be denied easily as a false assumption. The less sleeping hour causing fatigue and sleep deprivation may be one of the factor to cause job accident but is not the only reason for job accidents. With no clue on the number of working hours the company offers, it is not convincing to come up with such conclusion. Six to Eight hours of working in a day is not so stressful to the workers. As mentioned earlier, other factors like companies machineries, safety instruments, skills of the workers, consciousness of workers toward work etc. are also other factors which need to be looked up. The workers of the Quoit industry may be alcoholic and drug addict, and with less focus on the job with their subconscious mind may be the reason for the accident as well.

Thirdly, the conclusion made up with such unwarranted evidences is not so convincing. Sleeping is rather a habit formed from a long time ago. Shortening one more hour of the job do not mean the worker will use it to go home and take rest. What if they use that time to do part time job in another place which would make them even more tired. Also, the author relates the productivity of the company with the no of job accidents which is contradictory. Productivity is more related with the workers efficiency, machineries, marketing, employees and employers efforts which the author fails to mention in the argument.

Summing up, the evidences provided by the author is not so convincing. It would have been better if the author have provided more evidences along with other solutions to decrease the rate of job accidents.