The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although the XYZ company makes a great case for Delany Personnel Firm of helping laid employees find jobs upon leaving XYZ company, the author assumes Delany Personnel Firm is the only firm that provides the service for helping find employment.

The author assumes that creating resumes and developing interview skills are the only criteria for find a job. However, the prospective employee may be other skills and qualifications that the author overlooks when find a job upon leaving XYZ company. For example, the employee may already have developed the resumes and interviewing skills before the assistance of Delany Personnel Firm. Although the author makes the case that Delany found jobs much more quickly than Walsh Personnel Firm, the services that the two companies provide may be different tailored to the job that the employee is seeking. The implication of the assumption of the services that Delany Personnel Firm provides does not encompass the employee's skills and qualifications that match the job's role and responsibilities.

Furthermore, the author compares the results of Walsh Personnel Firm with Delany Personnel Firm eight years ago. Comparing the result of eight years with Walsh Personnel Firm is risking the opportunity for what Walsh has to offer today. Walsh may provide better services and quicker results than Delany. Assuming that only half of the workers laid off found jobs within a year exaggerates the assertion that only Walsh is incapable to speeding the process for employment, when in fact the employees themselves may have rejected the offers made by the Walsh; hence, the longer processing time required to find another job for laid off employee.

Moreover, the price for the Walsh is lower than that of Delany, as a result, the services that the XYZ company would expect would not be on par with Delany's. While the author assumes that Delany is a better option, XYZ company may receive better return on investment with Walsh's services, although employees may take a longer time to find a job. The satisfaction of the services that Walsh provides may be more advantageous than Delany. Simply ruling out Walsh is an opportunity cost that XYZ company should consider when selecting which firm to use when helping its laid off workers continue their employment elsewhere.

In conclusion, XYZ company should consider both the assumptions and the implications of generalizing the notion that Delany is the solution to helping its employees find jobs. Considering Walsh's services and improvements may help XYZ company make a better decision on which firm will provide the better return on investment for both the company and the laid off employees.