The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it might be true that new retirement residents of WWAC area are not interested to listen to rock-music format; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that decline in local sales of recorded music might be related to new retirement population, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefor, not strong enough to change a radio station’s format from music to news.

The manager of WWAC radio station mentions that there is a decline in radio music listeners despite retirement population growth in WWAC area. However, the author does not indicate if new residents are not interested just about rock-music format or all other music formats too which can make a different perspective. For example, new residents might be interested to listen to classic music. Thus, there is no need to completely switch from music to news to reverse a decline in listener numbers. To strengthen his or her argument, the manager needs investigations about all music types interests for new residents of WWAC area.

Additionally, the author implies that the local music sales has been declined, but the author does not bring enough explanations about declined music sales. For instance, new residents who moved to WWAC area might have already bought local music before which indicates the reason for declined local music sale. On the other hand, music prices might raise up, so residents prefer to download their favorite music from internet.

The manager suggests that they should change a music station to news station; however, there is not enough evidences to guarantee the argument. The author needs to make sure that most of the residents are interested to listen to news or music. Moreover, as mentioned before, the manager needs to investigate about all types of music and not just rock music that is essential to know for more listeners’ attractions. The author can have a survey to ask residents about their music and news interests.

This suggestion is persuasive when the manager gathers information about resident’s music type interests and the reasons for decreased sales in local music. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.