The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies

Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce

operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are

famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable

way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston

significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather

than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released

more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without

jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we

recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore

stores."

?rite a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be

answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument

on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to

these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore recommends truncating operating hours and reducing stocks in order to gain mor profits. The author makes a number of unwarranted assumptions in making this recommendation, and if they are proven wrong, could prove costly for the company.

The first question that needs to be answered is what Movies Galore actually famous for? Here author simply stated that Movies Galore wass famous for its special bargains, but how did the author reach this conclusion ? Maybe some survey was done or maybe some customers were asked about what they liked best about Movies Galore - but reagardless, without knowing how they author gleaned this information and the validity of his method, we cannot say for sure that Movies Galore is actually famous for its bargain. Movies Galore might really have amazing prices, but if, for example it was actually its wide movie collection that actually drew customers then the author's recommendation of purging movies more than five years old might cost more in revenue than the amount saved on keeping a lower stock. As such, if the price is not the most vaunted aspect of Movies Galore, then the company might increase profits by raising the price without seriously affecting its reputation.

The author claimed that in its Marston store its operating expense reduced significantly due to some changes in some of the store's policies; however, we do not know whether the profits show a corresponding significant increase as well. If the overall result of those changes was negative, then there's no reason to make similar changes in the other stores. Also, the alteration could certainly reduce operating expenses, nonetheless, their effect on the store's revenue was not mentioned. Closing earlier and reducing the size of its stock could result in losing many customers, whose effect could easily overwhelm the amount saved on operating expenses.

The author also generalized his findings from one store to be applicable to all this other stores. People in Maston might have significantly different movie watching habits than people in other areas. So even if the author's recommendation proved viable in Maston, doesn't mean that it will be the same for the other areas as well. The demographics in other cities are likely to be significantly different. In some areas for example, people might have a predilection for old movies and late night movie-renting; in places such as these the author's recommendation could lead to a major drop in profits.

The author's recommendation therefore needs more incisive analysis before being implemented. The author could also look for other ways to increase profits or reducing operating costs.