The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it seem that demand that total demand for electricity will decline and construction of new generation plant is not reqiuired, but argument has lot of weakness.

it is stated that during past twenty four years company's three electricity generating plants have met electricity requirements of the locality and home manufacturers are making more energy conserving appliances, but people are using more electric appliances these days than earlier. Earlier only some of the homes have electric gadgets and that too very few electric gadget like tv or fridge. With advancement in technology, every house nowaday has number of gadgets like television, fridge, oven, microwave, mobile, laptop, gaming consoles, electric car to name a few that can increse energy required per house.

Furthermore, during past few years there has been significance increase in the number of houses in the locality. As there is no complaints regarding electricity and water in locality, it has attracted a lot of people towards it which has incresed number of shops, restuarentand schools in the locality.

While technoligies for better home insulation and passive solar heating is readily available which can decrease energy requirements but the price of these equipments is very high. Most of the people who live in the society are middle class and can not afford these equipments. Moreover, while energy conserving these equipments creates a lot of sound and there is a danger of electric shock which will further decrease its sales.