The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health

Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other healthrelated products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members

than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to

participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The argument that Health Naturally would make huge profit in Plainsville because it is fraught with residents who are concerned with leading healthy lives makes several unwarranted assumptions regarding it increased sales of running appurtenances, local health club gaining more members and requiring school children to take part in fitness program. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions renders the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if theses unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that because sales of running shoes and exercise equipment is high, Health Natural will make a huge sales. This assumptions omitted several evidences that needs scrutinizing. One of such evidence include the availability of other health product stores. It argument failed to show the amount of rival stores in the neighbourhood. It fails to assess if the residents need more health product store. Also, the hike in sales of exercise paraphernalia might because that is what is in vogue. Exercise wears might be what is in trend presently which led to many residents buying them to fit in.

Another leap in the argument is the assumption that because the local health club – which was about shutting down some years ago – now has increased amount of members and full capacity. This is seriously flawed because the argument failed to show the amount of former members in the club. The club might initially have five members, and might have grown to ten members, which will lead to its present facility to be filled up because the club will only have provision for the former five members. If this is the case, then the argument is invalid. On the other hand, if the store should previously have a thousand member and witness a tremendous increase to two thousand members, which also leads to it capacity being filled up, then the argument becomes valid.

Lastly, the argument assumes that because school children are required to participate in fitness program, school children will develop inclination for exercise which will lead them to buying exercise wears. True, the school might have required the children to participate in fitness programs, but this does not mean the children will have inclination for the program. Some might even dislike the exercise as a result of the program. Also, children might participate in the fitness program, but this does not mean the children will patronize the store as the children might have exercise wears before and might not be interested in health product.

Thus, for the argument to be strengthened, the author need to provide evidence to show that the residence of Plainsville are buying exercise wears and health product because these people are interested in the wears and products and not because either the doctors asked them to get the health product or because the exercise wears are what is trending. Furthermore, the author needs to show the former capacity of the health club. The author needs to show whether the health has higher or fewer amount of members before the new members joined. The author also need to show the amount of members that joined. In addition to this, the author needs to show the former size of the club and compare it to the present size of the club.

In conclusion, the argument that Health Naturally would make huge profit by opening a new store in Plainsville makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously impair it validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, Health Naturally might be a major mistake by opening a new branch store in Plainsville which might turn out to big loss to the store.