The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students enroll

According tot the recommendation written by a committe that holds in charge of a ten-year budget for Calatrava, a lot of fundings can be saved to invest in the facilities for the adults, since the numbers of babies and children are declining. However, such arguement, despite its superficial cogency, requires further discoveries and analyses of more evidence to become valid.

The first evidence to be examined is the demographic movements of the city's population. The arguement constructed above naively assumes as if the city itself is a closed system by itself. However, a substantial amount of people in fact move in and out of the city. Thus, if the city is currently witnessing a lot of people moving into the city from the adjacent ones, the committee has to re-evaluate the plan, for such incoming people can alter the current local dynamics of the population. More potential families with young children might come into the city to enjoy the programs and facilities with bigger spaces and rooms than what their previous cities offer. Furthermore, the adults, especially the working ages, might tend to go out, seeking for job oppportunities outside of the city. These such potential movemenets of the people, if they do exist continuously, would in fact invalidate the reasoning suggested by the committee.

Another evidence one has to evaluate is the more extensive statistics in regard to the local birthrate. The passage insists that the current birthrate is half of what they have compiled the five years ago. The committee has to not only obtain but also analyze the more exhaustive ones, atleast the ones that show the last five years' birthrates, because the city might have seen a peculiarly high birthrates five years ago that could have served as an anomaly. Furthermore, the overall declining trend of the birthrate could be in fact very minimal; curtailing a huge sum of the funds for the younger people in this case could be rather a unnecessarily bombastic reaction and thus may not be justified. Clearly, it is crucial to parse the overall trend of the birthrate decline.

Lastly, the committee has to check who consist the dominant customers of the atheltic and reactional facilties whose funds the passage believes it is reasonable to reduce. The author of the passage has concluded such, based on the belief that the younger customers are the main visitors of these amenities. However, this belief is precariously flawed: the adults and even the elders enjoy attending to the sports facilties and other physical activities. In fact, in some cases, the adults show a higher proclivity of consistently attending to those faciltiies more than the younger people who lack stabilities of occupations and schedules. If it comes out that a significant number of adults also use the atheletic faciltiies, the passage loses its strength.

To wrap it up, although the passage has equipped itself with evidence, it has failed to purvey a convincing arguement. With its lack of sound reasonings and robust evidence, it is too foolhardy to conclude that the passage comes valid. Depending on the discoveries as well as implications of more evidence, the passage's validity gets shored upor weakened in the long run.