The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above speech is about making the current curriculum more technology oriented for high school students wherein the coding classes will be a must in order to complete high school graduation. The argument here is riddled with unwarranted assumptions and a sundry of logical fallacies upon which I will be shedding light.

Firstly, citing the prompt, "If our students take the programming classes, they will lead fulfilling lives and have high paying jobs in the near future". What exactly is a fulfilling life? The answer to this will vary from person to person, and their individual perspective of how one wants to live their life. For some people, fulfilling life would mean, leading a life of happiness with their families, and another group of people may describe it is being healthy, without having any kind of pernicious diseases. For example, if this question was posed to an orphan, he or she might describe a fulfilling life as being providential and ebullient. Therefore, it cannot be claimed that taking up coding classes in high school is what will make these students have such a life.

Secondly, they state that the best job prospects lie in the field of data science and software engineering only. This might change in the future, as no one can predict what might happen. For example, the COVID-19, this behemoth of a virus turned into a pandemic which led to economy plummeting dramatically. During this epidemic, the job opportunities were higher for biotechnologists, pharmacists and scientists in order to discover or create a new drug to treat the COVID-19 patients. Additionally, as the hospitals were overflowing with patients, the doctors, nurses and other hospital staff also had to work overtime. Hence, since future is highly unpredictable, it cannot be claimed that these are the jobs that will be higher paid.

Lastly, these high school students are being coerced to take programming classes for four years. Students particularly in this age, will have a variety of interests which should not be circumscribed, instead they should be encouraged to pursue them. For example, what if a student aspires to become an actor, or a musician or a social worker, these jobs do not require a technical skill set. Therefore, students should be given a choice whether or not they want to take up computer lessons, and should be given options for other extra-curricular activities.

In conclusion, the argument does not hold up when questioned, and does not make strong case that computer programming classes should be made mandatory for high school students.