The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it might be true that consumption of the plant beneficia is going to prevent colds; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that colds might be the most reason for schools and workplaces absenteeism, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefor, not strong enough to recommend the daily use of beneficia supplement.

The author mentions that a study report shows that doctor' visits for cold treatment are only once or twice per year in nearby East Meria. However, the author does not provide further information to prove the assumption. There are other ways than visiting doctor to treat colds. For example, a person who gets minor cold can use home remedy such as honey-lemon tea to treat her cold. On the other hand, most people do not go to a doctor for cold treatment unless if it is a severe cold. Moreover, the author compares two different regions and expect to get a same result which does not make sense. For sure, there are differences between East and West Meria which is an important factor to be addressed. To strengthen his/her suggestion, the author needs investigations about total population of West and East Meria and their lifestyles such as exercise plan and eating habits.

Additionally, the author implies that colds are the main reason for schools and workplaces absenteeism, but the author does not provide any information to prove the assumption. There are other reasons for absents at work or school. Imagine a student who did not have enough time to finish her homework. As a result, she is scared to go to school because she does not want be embarrassed in front of her classmates and teacher. On the other hand, some employees are overwhelmed with their job duties, so they just call sick to have a day off for relaxation.

The author recommends that if students and employees take nutritional supplements containing beneficia, they can prevent colds. Consequently, significant reduction of absenteeism will happen. However, there is no data about beneficia supplement efficiency.

This suggestion is persuasive when the author gathers information about differences of West and East Meria population, efficiency of beneficia supplement for cold prevention, and the main reason for absenteeism. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.