The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

In the memo, marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores concludes, they should start placing their advertisement in Exotic Pets and other popular pet magazines to counter the decline of sales, and start making the profit. This conclusion is based on the evidence that competing store, Fish Emporium has started advertising in maganizines consequently, started making profit. The argument as it stands now is flawed and requires three evidence to clear the ambiguity surrounding it.

Firstly, there is no evidence which states that Fish Emporium's sales are directly connected to their advertising. It can be the case, that they have opened theire store near a university or an office which makes it easy to attract more customers and increase sales. Also, it is possible, they have started offering a new and exclusive pet which is not offered anywhere in the country. Thus, it requires some evidence which clearly indicates the reason for the increase in sales. If author fails to provide the evidence then it makes the statement weak.

Secondly, no evidence suggests that increase in sales directly relates to increase in profit. It can be the case, that they are losing money while trying to attract average customer by offering various incentives and fancy advertisements. So, it requires some evidence (perhaps a financial comparison between the two) to clear out the ambiguity associated with the profit and sales of the two stores. If author fails to provide evidence supporting his assumption then it makes the statement weaker.

Lastly, there is no evidence which suggests that placing ads in Magazines will surely counter the declining sales. It can be the case that Lamfonz Pet Stores are shrinking their offerings and thus the customers are not willing to choose from a limited options. It can also be the case that Lamfonz Pet stores is decling sales because people already have a pet and so they do not require extra pet. Hence, it requires some evidence (perhaps a survey) that clearly shows preferences of the people and also if they already have a pet or not. If author fails to provide evidence associated with this then it makes the argument weaker.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed and requires three evidence for clearing out the ambiguity. If author fails to provide the evidence supporting his claims then it makes the argument invalid.