The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the memorandum, Happy Pancake House has recently replaced butter with margarine and examined the reaction of their customers. The customer complaint data and reports from servers confirmed that the customers are satisfied and even happy with the change. However, the two pieces of evidence do not present a full picture of what the customers think, and the manager is simply assuming the reactions of the customers based on the partial data.

The fact that only 2 percent of customers have complained does not indicate that the others are happy about the change. They probably have their opinions but just have not expressed them; they may have not participated in the survey, assuming that there was one. In order to interpret the data properly, more information regarding the types of questions, whether the data was collected as an open question or measured on a scale, and the number of participants must be provided.

In order to collect sincere responses from the customers, the servers should have explained the new change and asked if they were still satisfied with the margarine. However, the servers simply gave them margarine when asked for butter. As the two ingredients are very similar in taste and texture, the customers may have not recognized the difference. Using such circumstances to argue that replacing butter with margarine is okay because customers cannot tell the difference is quite deceptive.

In conclusion, the argument that the new change had no impact on the customers cannot be proven correct as there is no sufficient evidence that backs up this argument. The evidence provided in the passage is all assumptions rather than hard, factual evidence. In order to present an accurate picture of the reaction, a proper customer survey must be designed and implemented.