'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, the business manager of a television station claims that the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news coverage during their late-night news program. He states this because there have been complaints, most of them concerning about lack of coverage given to weather and local news as opposed to the national news and also because many local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts during this programme. However, this argument is flawed as the author fails to addresses several gaps as delineated below.

First, the author mentions that there have been complaints concerning the news coverage given to weather and local issues. However, he fails to mention about the ratio of the viewers complaining to the whole set of viewers. If this proportion is really meagre, there should be no need to alter their news coverage because the majority are still hooked up to what is being shown currently. A correct metric to adjudicate as to what should be shown is the increase or decrease in the viewers after changing coverage to national news and also as mentioned, the proportion of these viewers complaining.

Secondly, author tells that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts during this late-night program. However, the reason for them cancelling could be because it's a late-night program and they might have realised that their advertisements reach is far more during the regular television hours than at late night hours. It could also be possible that due to some economic conditions pertaining locally or nationally, their business is being impinged upon such as by a pandemic caused due to an infectious disease which lead them to cancel their advertisement contracts. It could also be possible that they would rather advertise their products at another television station because of better pricing policies and more viewership. Two situations happening at the same time, doesn't necessarily account for a cause and effect or a direct link. Instead, the author should focus more on collecting the data as to why the local businesses are cancelling their contracts rather than making assumptions.

Thus, the argument consists of several loopholes and information gaps which need to be taken into account before taking the decision of restoring back the coverage to local news and weather. The author needs to carefully circumspect the situation, on the basis of concrete facts and evidences rather than on intuitions based on flimsy assumptions before drawing out a conclusion.