The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The television sation has arrived at the conclusion that restoring their coverage time for weather and local news will lead to increased viewership of thier late-night news program. They also believe that decreased viewrship due to this change in coverage has led to local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts. However, the television station has failed to conduct a thorough evaluation of the circumstances to reach its conclusion.

The manager has mentioned that reducing the coverage time of weather and local news has led to complaints from viewers. However, the manager does not address the question whether these complaints were due to less time devoted to these areas or due to lack of quality of the weather reports and local news. The television station has to look into the nature of these complaints prior to concluding that restoring coverage time is the solution.

The reason for reduced viewership may also be because the viewers simply prefer coverage of all kinds of news including sports and entertainment. There is also the possibility that viewers prefer a different news station all together because of the content of their late-night programs combined with quality and advertising options. The manager believes that restoring weather and local news coverage will lead to attracting more customers. However, it provides no grounds for this argument. It could be possible that the television station might regain its lost customers or simply retain its current viewers.

In order to evaluate the circumstances adequately, the television station should introduce a customer survey or feedback system in order to understand what the viewers prefer in their late night news program. The data collected in this manner will help them understand if simply restoring coverage time will satisfy its viewers and bring in more viewers or the TV channel should take other measures like altering the content of its late-night news program to match the tastes of its audience in order to attract viewership.