The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The claim seems to contain some misrepresentation of facts and a ill judgement with facts. First, the time period of observation is quite long as several seasons pass by in an year. A discussion on rating over months should be provided to generate a clear picture in reader. There might have been precipitous fall in particular months than others but the claim is quite misguiding belying such precious facts.

Secondly, the nature of complaints concerning weather and local news are not discussed. Therefore, the claim fails to affirm whether the lack of air-time directly affected for complaints. The quality of service, inaccuracy of predictions or facts, misrepresentation are some possible causes for such complaints.

Then again, in the mention of local businesses cancelling contracts doesn't include the reasons or background. The managers may failed to maintain the contract agreement or a sudden change in regulations may have affect such quick response. Futher, the socio-economic background has not discussed. If there had been a civil uphealval or economic crisis then local businesses are forced to retain their expenses due to such truculent situations.

Finally, the conclusion does not justify in which way that restoring air-time allocation will regain or lessen business contracts or decrease viewers complaints. A proper procedure is not detailed under these concentrations. The manger seems under a mere belief stating ,without a viewers' consensus, that the viewers may increase with suggested remedy, without improving the quality of service which is not depicted.

For afforementioned reasons, the claim include several random details without providing a firm foundation to corraborate with the final decision of restoring air-time allocation.