The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument tries to recommend that restoring the time devoted to weather news and local news to its formal level will result in an increasd viewership and will prevent the further loss in revenue. This argument is flawed due to numerous unwannted assumptions. Primarily it tries to link the decreased time devotion of wheather and local news directly to coplaints recieved from people and canceling of advertising contract. It also has causal flaw.

First and foremost the argument assumes that decrease in the time devoted during the late night show was the only cause of complaint recieved from viewers on the station's wheather and local news. However this might not be the case as the argument that these concernes were explicitly related to the late-news program . These complaints might be related to the coverage of the weather and local news on other news shows run by the station. The argument had been strongetr if it had provided the detail regarding the focus of of the complaints registered and the concerns people metioned.

Secondly, eve if we assume that the complaints were only concerned with the late night news program the argument leave many other questions unanswrred. The argument makes a conclusion based on the underlying assumption that restoring the time devoted to its earlier amount will increase the viwership. This assumption is not based on a firm grounding. Insofar, the argument does not provide any data such as TRP value before and after the change in the time devoted to corroborate this assumption.Also, there is no detail regarding any decrese in the viwership as well. If the argument had provided the data to showcase the trend of change in the number of viewers due to change in the time devoted we would have been in better position to evaluate this argument.

Finally, The argument also assumes that the station lost the contract because of decrease in time devoted to weather and local news during the late-news show. This assumption is unwarranted. Moreover, the argument do not give any detail regarding the reason behind advertisement contract cancellation. If the argument had given the information to support this claim the argument would have been more convincing.

Therefore to conclude the argument makes unjustified link between restoring the time content and increase in viewership and prevention of advertising contract cancellation, thus remains unconvincing.