The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument of the business manager of the television station claims that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will help them avoid losing additional advertising revenues. The basis of this argument is that once the late-night news program devoted more time national news, cutting down time from weather and local news, viewer complaints in this regard increased, and local businesses pulled out their advertising contracts from the program.

The manager has failed to mention several key pieces of evidence which are required to evaluate the merits of the argument. For one, the manager does not mention the advantages of increasing time for national news, or why it was implemented in the first place. If, for instance, it could be proved that national news attracts increased number of higher-paying advertising campaigns from national businesses, it would weaken the manager's stance on loss of revenues.

Further, it is mentioned that viewers are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. It however doesn't mention that they are concerned with the coverage in late-night news program specifically. Weather and local news can be dispensed at times other than late nights. For instance, it is possible that most viewers are more interested in knowing the weather in the morning itself, but had got in the habit of checking the weather for the next day in the late-night program. In such a case, cutting down national news coverage for weather reports may not be the wisest decision on part of the manager.

Most television channels today have multiple ways to provide news on the same display. The manager should explore such opportunities to not only retain viewers and local businesses, but to broadcast their national news coverage as well. For instance, weather reports could be concisely displayed in the bottom panel of viewer screens, so that viewers can get information on weather at all times. The scrolling marquee bands on screens can be used to display local news in a flash, along with local business advertisements. Detailed reports on local news can be covered in short 5 minute breaks or flash news coverage during the late-night program. This will enable the television station to retain all its existing programs and reports.

The manager further needs to provide solid evidence on viewer complaints. It could be possible that the complaints come from local businesses only, as they are also the viewers. The manager also needs to provide additional information on the viewership of the late-night program. Sure the complaints mention the reduced coverage of local news and weather, but how significantly has it altered the amount of views the program receives? The manager does not provide any evidence of reduced viewership, and an increase in viewer complaints does not neccessarily mean reduced view counts. To illustrate, if the viewership of national news was more compared to local news, it would weaken the argument that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to their former level would attract more viewers.

Presented in the manner stated, the argument made by the manager of the television lacks complete supporting evidence and needs to be further evaluated for merit.