The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author states the opinion by giving three facts :(1) Manned space flight is costly and dangerous (2) there is sign of success in using unmanned space probes (3) the reduce in cost and risk with sending humans into space thus investing resource in unmanned probes . All these facts seems to be logical first glance . But when looked intricately , the author tends to overlook certain vital points which could weaken the facts mentioned above.

Firstly, the author stated that manned space flight is costly and dangerous , which can be considered as the truth to certain extent. But the author fails to mention why manned space is costly and dangerous? Are they not putting enough efforts in replacing the costly equipments with reusable or are they not trying to ameliorate the dangerous consequences faced by humans when in space? He doesn't provide the cogent explanation for this problem.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that using unmanned space probes and satellites have been proved to be successful as the information collected by this probes is considered to be useful. But author doesn't give any evidence that the for what purpose was this probes used and moreover what is was the information they conceived was it a limited one as in confined to particular query or was it a generalized one which can be useful for many purpose. the author can't provide evidence for that.

Thirdly, the author mentions the cost and risk associated with using manned space flight, which can be true. But how can the author be sure about cost associated with unmanned probes as it can more than manned ones. The risk associated with human beings will surely be reduced , what if the machine meets with failure there might be chances of loss. The information collected by probes if proved to be spurious then this might led to increase in cost and wastage of resources involved in this process.

Thus the facts provided by the author are proved to be ill-founded . the arguments can be strengthened if the author had provided sufficient information regarding various aspects involved by doing proper survey would have helped . But for now the authenticity of the information based on the data mentioned ,falls flat.