The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the above statement, the author contends that Monarch Books should incorporate a cafe in the book store in order to raise profit, since Book and Bean which has an inside cafe in the bookstore implements to have a store in the Collegeville. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further additional evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that removing the children books section and having a cafe to be in that place indicates a profitable choice for Monarch Books. However, it may not be the case. Monarch Bookstore's main customers could have been the children. There is no evidence over which range of age is Monarch Books' customers. In addition, Monarch Bookstore's customers might not prefer cafe to be inside a bookstore. All of this, getting a cafe inside a bookstore, comes from author's presuming of Book and Bean's strategy to be successful. However, there is no evidence of the Book and Bean to have been successful to conclude that their strategy was effective. Also, making a cafe could cost so much money that there could be negative profit. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to Monarch Book's customers' characteristics, Book and Bean's strategy being successful at other places, and the cost of making a cafe inside a bookstore should be supported to support the claim and assess it.

Secondly, the large and strong base of the customers for the Monarch Books is not conclusively proven. The author mentions the large customers from 20years ago is still helpful for Monarch Books to pertain the profit. However, the customers could have died currently. In addition, the customers might not currently be Monarch Books' customers. The customers could have moved to other bookstores or use the online delivery service for the books because the bookstore's inside interior is dilapidated. Therefore, even though there is a new cafe inside the bookstore, the section other than that coffee area could be so antediluvian for the customers to come. As such, more detailed evidence needs to be considered whether there are still large customers for the Monarch Books to validate the author's assertion.

Lastly, the validity of the national census should be checked in order to confirm author's claim. The census concluded that the children have decreased substantially in number. However, we do not know which area of the children have decreased. Maybe, the Collegeville area could be famous for a good educational environment that families with kids could have moved into the place.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported as it stands in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the above evidence is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.