The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this recommendation, the author concludes that Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children’s books. To validate this conclusion, the author cites the following fact about: Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, has announced its intention to open a store here in Collegeville; A recent national data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Close examination of each of evidence, however, reveals that neither of them lends credible support to the recommendation.

Firstly, even if Book and Bean should succeed to attract visitors here in Collegeville, the author does not provide enough information to strengthen Monarch Books has the same result if opening its own in-store café. It is likely that the old customers would find it disappointing and stop visiting Monarch when part of the bookstore turned into a coffee shop, since it definitely does harm to the reader-friendly atmosphere; also, in all likelihood, Monarch Books serves a large number of children readers, thus opening a café in the space devoted to children’s books will result in a loss of this segment of customers. Accordingly, the author must present more specific evidence to sustain that the success of Book and Bean can be duplicated by Monarch Books.

Secondly, the author assumes that the sales of children’s books are going to decrease given a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten throughout the nation. However, this depends on an additional assumption that the general trend can reflect a specific place, such as Collegeville. Perhaps the living cost in Collegeville is relatively lower compared to that in other regions among the country, thus there are higher rate of fertility in Collegeville, which leads to a higher proportion of children than the national average. Even assuming the result of the survey is representative, further information is needed to validate that the sale will decrease since parents and teachers usually buy children’s books for their children and students. More evidence to compare local and national situations is needed to strengthen validity of opening in-store café in Monarch Books.

Thirdly, the manager believes Monarch is going to increase profits if it opens the in-store café. However, no data or surveys are engaged to bolster this arbitrary prediction. Profitability is restricted by both revenue and expense. Even if all the assumptions in the argument are true, Monarch still faces a latent high expense. It is entirely possible that the cost of the facilities is rather expensive. Plus, the salary of employees might be costly given labor shortage. Even if the cost is within the budget, the revenue cannot be guaranteed since Monarch lacks experience in running a coffee shop and therefore few consumers would patronize this book store. Therefore, regardless of the costs the store has to pay and unknown profit, it cannot establish a competent assumption that an in-store café can assure profits.

To sum up, the manager fails to substantiate his claim that Monarch should open its own in-store coffee shop because the argument relies on certain dubious assumptions. To reinforce it, the author would have to recognize the distinctness between Book & Bean and Monarch; additionally, he would have to demonstrate the sale of children’s books is actually going to decrease. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.