The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of Monarch Books makes an assertion that once the bookstore substitute its space currently devoted to children’s books to an in-store café, it can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean. To substantiate this claim, he made several assumes that: (1)with an in-store café, Book and Bean will became a competitor to Monarch Books; (2)given the national census data, sales of children’s books must decline accordingly; (3)once Monarch Books builds its own café, it can surely increase profits. However, some questions are supposed to be answered before Monarch books takes this action.

Firstly, the recommendation of the speaker is based on the fact that Book and Beans is likely to open a Collegeville store, which can become a threat to Monarch Books’ business. However, it seems that the speaker is just so eager to draw a conclusion that he overestimates the likelihood of the competition. To begin with, there is chance that Book and Bean won’t open its Collegeville store since the announcement only declared its intention. Also, from the claim we can see that it was its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects that helped Monarch Books develop a large customer base, thus it is entirely possible that an in-store café cannot outweigh the beloved characters of Monarch Books. So, to assume that Book and Bean will become a competitor, the speaker needs some extra evidence, like if Book and Bean once significantly undermined a bookstore similar to Monarch Books.

Secondly, the speaker suggests that the sales of children’s books will decline considering the national census data indicates that percentage of the population under age ten decreases. In my opinion, this data can be so misleading that it cannot help the speaker validate his points. Decreasing in percentage doesn’t lead to the decrease in actual number, since if the total population of the nation increase while the population under ten stays unchanged, the percentage of which can seem to decline as well. Even though the population under age ten does declines, it cannot guarantee the decline in sales of children books. Besides read by children, the so-called children’s books can also serve the intention of some research work, like literary criticism. The speaker needs to provide data, which directly indicates the decline in sales of children’s books, in order to make his idea clear and sound.

Lastly, according to the proposal of the speaker, substituting the zone for children’s books to an in-store café can increase profits. It is likely that an in-store café can become popular among customers, but that does not assure profits. Cost is inevitable when building a café, while buying ingredients and paying for waiters also cost money. Theoretically the cost can be all covered by profits the café intends to make, however, without relevant experience of running a café, it is doubtable whether the manager can handle the new business well, which makes the choice of opening a café quite risky. Another question needs to be consider is, even though the manager manages to run the café well, can it be well enough to beat the café of Book and Bean, given that Book and Bean surely has more experience in running coffee shop. If the speaker intend to persuade the bookstore into building its own café, he should at least propose a feasible plan of how to manage the new business.

To sum up, the recommendation of the speaker that Monarch Books should open its own coffe shop is based on falsely developed reasoning and unfounded assumptions. To reinforce it, the speaker need to offer convincing evidence showing an actual decreasing in sales of children’s books. Additionally, he should prove that the relationship of competition between two bookstores does exist, and Monarch Books does have the ability to run a café well. After careful evaluation of the factors discussed above, the speaker’s opinion can be rendered more convincing.