The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A newsletter report in the West Meria Public Health Council presents an argument for increasing fish consumption, through the use of Ichthaid (a supplement derived from fish oil), to prevent colds and subsequently reducing absenteeism from schools and workplaces. The council justifies its argument by presenting a report of nearby East Meria that shows a high intake of fish in the town’s population along with minimal required doctor visits for treatment of colds. However, in order to fully evaluate these arguments two specific pieces of evidence must be investigated to determine the plausibility of the conclusion.

First of all, the study done of East Meria must be examined in depth to determine what extent it can be applied to the city of West Meria. It is possible that the residents of East Meria are of a completely different makeup of age or race. These factors may have considerable biological effects on whether increased fish intake effects the person’s immune system. Therefore, the two cities cannot necessarily be compared when determining the effects of fish intake on health. It also possible that each city has differing socio-economical backgrounds. If this is the case, it would not be appropriate to compare the amount of doctor visits between each of the city’s citizens as the ability to afford these visits would be different in each area. So, these differences, if proven true, would severely weaken the argument by the council.

Further, the council argument relies on the consumption of Ichthaid proving true at preventing colds. They provide evidence of increased fish consumption as the reason for decreased illness. However, further evidence would be warranted to look at the similarity of the drug effects with consumption of whole fish. It is possible that this derived drug does not offer the same benefits as eating the meat of the animal. If additional evidence does not prove a similar link between the two then the council argument again falls flat.

In conclusion, the West Meria Health Council argument relating to intake of a fish oil supplement to decrease truancy or workplace absence is not fully justified. Further evidence and investigation of the arguments as detailed above will be required. If the council can more adequately address the issues presented then the conclusion may have more merit.