The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director looks at a recent report and then arrives at the decision that the Super Screen movies should be touted largely so that the attention of more public towards Super Screen movies can be captured. The director states that though the percentage of positive reviews related to this particular type of movies increased, the number of people attending these movies decreased. Therefore, the director feels that information about these movies are not reaching the customers properly. The director's decision may seem very cogent and indisputable at first, nevertheless, there should be more necessary information available for the clarification before such a decsion is made.

Firstly, the report manifests an increased percentage of positive reviews. This percentage does not necessarily give an idea of the number of the positive reviews, making us unclear about the real scenario. For example, if only ten people attended the Super Screen movies and nine of them rated it good, then there is ninety percent of the good reviews. However, this population size is too smal to make any assumption. Maybe all of the people of that small group of ten was infatuated with this particular type of movies. Therefore, only by observing a percentage, one cannot make any judgement.

Secondly, the director assumes that the deficiency of enough attendance in Super Screen movies is due to the fact that, the reviews are not reaching the doors of the customers. That is why, people are stopping to come in this type of movies. The director further states that there is nothing wrong with the movies' quality. However, being presumptuous like this, the director cannot argue that the movies are of good quality. Maybe due to the fact that the quality is poor, the number of audiences has diminished in the first place. It is totally refutable making decisions based on the opinions of few people. Besides, there is no visible evidence that the details about these movies are not reaching all the potential customers. It could be relevant that the customers are well aware of these movies, but are not simply interested in them. As a consequence, without redressing the real reason behind the losing of interest of these customers on these kind of movies, and conducting large scale advertising will not help the situation.

Furthermore, the report was a recent one and it only showed the decrease of people attending the Super Screen movies in a year. As a result, this data of only one year is not sufficient enough. There could be many reasons for the decrease in that year, suppose, there was a natural calamity that disrupted the normal lives of people in that year that ultimately led to fewer people going to watch movies. There could be other reasons also. However, if this decresae became more like a trend continuing of some years then it would be more reasonable to think like that.

Therefore, it can be clearly seen that the director should conduct further analysis in depth and should not be precipitously making such crucial investment decision without gleaning sufficient information which can prove his decision unimpeachable and compelling.