"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to reduce absenteeism in schools and workplaces, the author of the report recommends using lchthaid - a nutritional supplement extracted from fish- as a good way to prevent local residents from contracting cold. This conclusion is buttressed by evidence which should be carefully scrutinized in order to estimate it.

The central evidence of this argument is that in East Meria which is located nearby local dwellers consume a lot of fish and these people visit doctors only once a year because of colds. However, may some other factors impact on such a good result? The answer is "yes", the East Meris may have an effective campaign which promotes healthy life-style and sport activity, in this case, local people may buttress their health and thus need less doctors' attention. what is more perhaps two towns are not equal to each other in terms of ecological conditions. West Meria may have several mills and plants which may be situated near the urban area, when East Meria is free from such negative impacts. Consequently, the author needs to prove that consumption of the fish is the reason of the good statistic.

The second evidence which is given to us is that in West Meria the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work place is colds. However, people may use this diagnosis as excuse for their misbehavior. Perhaps people who want to absent for a couple of days merely reported colds but not have one. If the author gave us data that all cases of cold where approved by doctors, the argument would be stronger. Till we are not know it, and likeliness exists that people may use this disease as excuse for their conduct, we cannot accept the given evidence.

Finally, the argument claims that daily use of ichthaid is a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. However, the consumption of the ichthaid may not be equal to eating fish. Perhaps the eating of fish help to combat colds, but fish has many kinds and parts, probably one part of fish may have this curative effect and the nutritionally supplement may not have it. What is more, the author does not prove that local people indeed suffer from colds, if they are report about cold to remiss their work or study, the introduction of the supplement will not improve the statistic.

In conclusion, the given argument does not manage to create a strong support for the claim that conclusion of the nutritional supplement will improve the West Meria situation.