"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that daily use of nutritional supplement that is derived from fish oil can prevent colds and ultimatly reduce absenteeism in schools and workplaces. The statement is based on evidence that ought to be examined in order to give comprehensive estimastion of the reliability of recommendation.

Firstly, the author cites that people living in East Meria consume a substantial amount of fish and thus they visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. To support this assumption we need evidence that all the people of East Meria visit doctor for sure if they have cold. It is possible that people might have taken cold medicine available in market instade of visiting doctor. If this is true than lack of such evidence undermine the argument.

Secondly, the author states that most frequently given reason for absences from school and work is cold. Howerver, It is possible that information provide by students and workers is not valid. Without any evidence about such possiblity the author's argument that nutritional supplement will help to reduce absenteeism falls apart.

In conclusion, the given evidence has failed to create a sound support for recommendation. In order to bolster the recommendation , the author should provide evidence showing that proportion of people had cold and eat fish in a significant amount and reliability of the reason provided by students and workers.