"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The author of the given prompt opines in his letter to the editor of national aeronautics magazine that there has to be more scope given to the unmanned space expeditions than that of the manned ones. But the author's assertion which is made in a definitive tone is flawed to certain levels as it stands over certain unfound assumptions. He might hold water if those assumptions are not properly substantiated else they dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author takes the support of success if some robots placed into the space and the works done by them in a successful manner. But, to assert something, he must also take the failures of the robots too. The probes and robots which are made by human cannot act during the conditions in which they are not tuned to act in. Given that huge amount of money put over them to get trained may get lost if there no men to retrain it physically during some out of the box conditions. Hence, it may not be effective to send only robots to the space without a man accompanied.

Moreover, the author mentions that the information that can be retrieved by the robots during their space travel is more or equal to that of the information gathered by manial travel. But, the author fails to mention the organizations to which he is referring to. He fails to acknowledge space organizations which are known for their manial space expeditions. The national aeronautics organization might take helping hands from such organizations to carry out the effective manial space tasks. The author might come to second conclusion if he considers this factor

Even though it might seem viable that the cost of lives are greater than that of the information that are gathered according to the author - as he mentions the risk factor, there might be a case that the robot due to false training may send ineffective reports. Or the space scientists without analyzing with their bare eyes but only through the photos, may need more time to study on few areas. Thus, if human is carried on to the space to do the studies with some physical analysis needed, then man is undoubtedly the better choice to be put into the space than robots. The author, if considers these points might rethink about his opinion.

In a nutshell, the editor who asserts to decrease the manial space expeditions which he categorically mentions as risky and in effective needs to rethink about his argument. The editor makes flaws in understanding the human efforts needed and as well as fails to consider the success rates of the manial expeditions to juxtapose the manial and non manial space expedition. Therefore, if he considers the substantiations given, then he might come to the second conclusion or if clearly substantiate his unfounded assumptions, may ossify the point he makes in his opinion.