My car broke down yesterday, and I need a car to get to work. Therefore,

I should buy a new car.

The argument makes numerous unwarranted assumptions on the need to buy a new car which are not valid.

First, with the car having broken down, the argument insists on the need for another car to get to work. Instead, the car could have been repaired within the next day or other modes of transit such as a tram, bus, taxi etc. could be availed to reach the workplace. Hence, the argument must mention that the car could not be repaired within the following day. Also, the argument must make clear whether other modes of transit are not at the avail or the workplace is not connected directly by the transit modes.

Next, the argument proposes buying a new car as the solution for reaching the workplace with a repaired car. But, if at all the workplace could only reached by car, a car could be borrowed for a day from a colleague or a used car could be bought. Thus, the argument must make obvious that a no other car is not available to be borrowed and a used car is not preferred.

Finally, the argument primarily states the need to get to work the next day after the car break down. But, it does not give information on whether the current day was not a holiday. Therefore, the argument must state that the current day was a working day.

With the aforesaid unwarranted assumptions, the argument fails to provide valid reasons on the need to buy a new car.