Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

My assessment on this argument indicates that it seems plausible, but is actually not well reasoned. The author pointed out that Plainsville is a place of healthy lifestyle, but the healthy lifestyle does not directly lead to the popularity of health food. The increasing trend of the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing and the members in the health clubs is cited to strengthen the reasoning. However, whether this trend will continue in the long term is not substantiated. Moreover, the author might wrongly understand the health preference of the local residents.

First of all, the author cites lots of examples that the residents are living a healthy life. Whereas, this healthy lifestyle does not necessarily mean that the residents prefer to eat health food, since the healthy life has an extensive content including a healthy schedule, the habit to exercise and some limitations on diet. Eating health food is just part of it, and it is merely an alternative, not a compulsory. What if the residents do lead a healthy life without the habit to eat health food? This could be possible because the evidence given in the argument, including sales of running shoes, members in the health clubs and the fitness-for-life program all refer to exercise, not diet. To strengthen the author’s stand, it is advisable to do a household survey on the food pattern applied by most families.

Secondly, the author arbitrarily extends the existing trend to the long term. The sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are said to be at all-time highs, the health club to have more members and the schoolchildren to have a fitness-for-life program. However, could those things last in the future? It is not hard to imagine the possibility that the sales of running shoes plummet suddenly due to an economic recession. The health club might experience a decline in its members because of emigration. Again, the school program could be canceled since it seems useless.

Finally, what could be more sharply undermining the author’s reasoning is the possible misunderstanding of the so-called healthy lifestyle of the residents. It is mentioned that the residents seem to like doing exercise very much. However, what if the examples given in the argument are just on the surface, the residents live a very unhealthy life on the contrary? Perhaps the residents prefer to eat unhealthy food like fried chickens thus many of them are suffering obesity. As a result, they have to join in the health club, buy running shoes, and arrange a health program in the school to change the situation. If those are true, the company might get no interest from the residents.