“Our research indicates that over the past six years no incidents of employee theft have been reported within 10 of the companies that have been our clients. In analyzing the security practices of these 10 companies, we have further learned that each of them requires its employees to wear photo identification badges while at work. In the future, therefore, we should recommend the use of such identification badges to all of our clients.”

The author of the argument has concluded that to minimize employee theft all of their clients must wear identification badges. The recommendation is based on the analysis of their last 10 companies that have been associated with them since 10 years. Although the argument has some merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, author assumed that theft is done by client employees only. Author has failed to consider various reason apart from client employees. Others employees like housekeeping staff or their own employees may be involved in stealing. However, no such data is provided that client employees were the sole reason theft incidents in office.

Secondly, the author assumed that ID cards were the main reason that prevent client employees to involve any theft case. However, there might be some other reason other than this. For instance, the new installation of CCTV all across the workplace may prevent employees to do any theft case. However, author has not provide any data to support his reasoning that the IDs stopped employees not to stealing having the fear of being identified.

Lastly, there might be other possibility that authorities might have circulated advisories time to time all employees to reshape their moral and effect of theft on other fellow colleague. The circulation of advisories among the employees might have change their mind in two ways - 1. Morality their mindset changed 2. Employee might have feared that someone might have watching them but company does not want to reveal their name right now.

Although argument is unconvincing, the argument could have been strengthen if the author provide data such as client employees are the sole reason, there is no other changes in the office environment apart from mandatory of wearing photo identification badges , and there was no initiative taken by company other than introduction of photo identification badges . Without these data, argument is very hard persuasive.

In conclusion, although argument has some merits, but due to weak assumption, lack of evidence, the argument remains unconvincing.