"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The passage unwarrantingly assumes that prohibiting skateboarding only in the plaza will return the plaza to its former high customer levels and is therefore faulty without further evidence. It summarily disregards other important factor such as the current environment of the plaza overall as well as the fact that skateboarding might not be the only factor affecting the number of shoppers and prohibiting it, therefore, will not have the desired effect on the situation and can rather worsen the circumstances.

First of all, the skate boarders may not be the only reason that the number of shoppers are declining. It can very well be that there is some other reason such as the fall of the quality of products or the emergence of another more popular plaza nearby that is causing the customers unlikely to come to the cantral plaza. In this case, the skateboarding might be the only reason that some of the customers are even here. Some shops might specialize in selling skateboard goods and decline of customers on those shops doesn't explain why skateoarding would be at fault. Prohibiting skateboarding altogether may, therefore, have an adverse effect on the situation where people who were coming here for the fun of skateboarding would be loathe to commute to this place and thus customers would decrease even further. If we had more information about what was actually the cause of the shoppers declining as well as the information of the general interest of the current shoppers, we could have assessed this problem much better.

Then there is the problem of increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. These, while may or may not be related to the skateboarding, generally create a repugnant environment that could very well preclude the appearance of the customers. The vandalism might create a negative effect on the people's conscience and they may generally deem the place as unsafe and would rather commute so someplace safer. Also, there might be a new, more unique shopping center, which just just opened recently, might ust be more popular than the central plaza which is deemed rather safe than the current situation at the central plaza and people my start frequenting there. We need to take proper measure which would ensure the decrease of the litter and vandalism throughout the plaza and ensure a better, more convivial place for the customers to readily come in and enjoy.

Finally, Prohibiting skateboarding only in the plaza may preclude it from performing at all. For one, the skateboarding system may just shift from the plaza to a suitable place nearby which would assure its continuity. In that case, people who were interested in the skateboarding only and not in the plaza overall, would stop coming to the plaza. Therefore, the food shops and the goods shops that sold skateboarding related kits would lose even more of their customers. Without knowing what is actually the cause of the people's interest, prohibiting the skateboarding in the plaza will therefore do no good to the situation of the plaza and may very well have a deteriorating effect.

In conclusion, We need to know they exact information what is actually causing the customer rate decline in the plaza and whether it has any relation to the skateboarding at all. Then depending on the evidences we could determine whether stopping the skateboarding practice, bettering the condition of the environment, changing it or maybe modifying it in some way would actually ameliorate the situation. If we had all these information, the plaza may just be getting all of its former glory and customers back without having to anything to the skateboarding and who knows, the skateboarding may just be the reason that some of the customers were staying in the plaza all along and not some other reason.