For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level

In the following argument, the author claims that the public radio station must focus on traditional American folk songs and discontinue their emphasis on latino and worlds music. The author cites that they receive complain from customer and face critics from newspaper as well in conducting programms of latino music and world music. At first glance of argument, it seems plausible as the author has cited a various evidences to support a conclusion. However, after doing the meticulous analysis of the argument, there are singnificant underlying flaws that undermines the realibility of the conclusion pronounced by the author.

First of all, the argument readily assume that lonh term supporter complain about radio programme that conducted by radio station. This is merely an assumption withot any solid ground. The author fails to mention here how many complain they have received about that. Moreover, on what basis listener are consider as long term supporter or short term supporter? If the argument explicitly stated that number of complain that are receive from listener and percentage of complain then argument would have been more convincing. If there is only few percentage of people complain about then it will weaken otherwise if large number of complain are receive by radio station it will strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author point out another evidence here, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial ctitical to shift in programming. This is another hole in the argument. One the basis of just one local newspaper we can not determine about people preference. There might be a case to obtain attention from peoplr newpaper publish such article. If the argument has provided a shreds of evidences that include with proper authencity about article then it will be more pronouncing. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoniong and ill-defined terminology.

Thirdly, the author says in order to prevent such critics from the people and to retain a attention of the people, they are going to emphasis more on american traditional music than latino and world music. However, he did not mentioned about any information reagrding how many people actually wants to change radio programme. If the radio station had survey about personal preferences about the songs that people wants to hear in the radio with proper authnetic data then only the argument sounds more pronouncing. We can not evaluate to what to do by considering poor instances.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster the argument, the author must have to provide coda evidences. In regard to this argument, most arduous issue that needs to be aroused is to confirm whether the argument based on the proper statiscal data and authentic evidences. Furthermore, what are the source of primary and secondary data? Without this informations, the argument feels so arbitary and wistful thinking rather than substantial evidences. Thus, depending upon the realibility of evidences and statistical data, the argument can be buttress or undermine.