quot To reverse a decline in listener numbers our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock music format The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area but that growth has resulted mainly from people mov

To increase the listener numbers, the manager of WWAC radio station suggests that WWAC should replace the current rock-music format with a news and talk format. To support the purpose, the writer contends that a group of retired people have moved here, who do not like music formats as the local sales of recorded music are declining. Thus, in order to satisfy them, the passage indicates that WWAC should change to a news and talk format, which is increasingly popular in this area. Though some of the reasons listed above are true, I hold the view that the conclusion is not convincing.

First and foremost, it cannot be proved whether the people who move here are retired or not. Perhaps they are young people who want a different yet warm place to live in, or perhaps they are workers who are from other cities. Thus, without figuring out the characteristics of these people, we could not draw the conclusion that they would influence the listener numbers because it is likely that they do not like to listen to radio at all. Even if they are retired, there is no strong evidence which could show that retired people do not like rock music.

Furthermore, a decline in local sales of recorded music does not mean that people have little interest in music. Maybe the content of the music is too out of fashion to attract listeners. Besides, the price of this music is probably too high. In a word, there are many factors that contribute to the decline, so one could not be sure that people do not like music.

Last but not least, though it is a good idea to switch to a music format which suits people's appetite, it is not convincing that a news and talk format is popular in the area because the article does not show solid evidence. Perhaps the survey on the favorite type of music only asks those elderly people. Or perhaps the adults who have a lot of work to do on workdays do not have the time to express their opinions. Thus, it is not convincing that a news and talk format would attract more listeners.

So, I strongly disagree with the assumption in the passage for the reasons above.