A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is argued that the new Captain Seafood restaurant which specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable. This conclusion is reached based on studies that show increment in the consumption of seafood dishes in the Bay City restaurants and a decrement in eating home-cooked meals by the two-income families, who are the majority in the area, and the fact that there are no seafood specializing restaurants in the area at present. However, to evaluate if the argument holds ground, three evidences are required.

Firstly, what is the evidence that the two-income families eating less home-cooked food eat more seafood? The mentioned study says these families eat less home-cooked food. This can be good enough to say that they eat more restaurant food, but this doesn’t have to mean they eat more seafoods in the restaurants when they don’t eat home-cooked food. Perhaps, they eat more vegetables or fast food. If evidence is found that these majority two-income families don’t actually eat more seafood than the conclusion drawn in the original argument is undermined.

Secondly, evidences are required to proof that seafood is healthy. The study mentioned says that majority of the families in the area are two-income families who are also very conscious about healthy eating. There is no evidence provided to prove that seafoods are healthy for people. On the contrary, one can argue that, seafoods actually aren’t really healthy food choice especially for people with high blood pressure, people who work in a stressed condition. Seafoods are known to contain cholesterol and unsaturated fats which are not really the ingredients one looks for in healthy food. If there are evidences to prove that seafoods are not healthy, then the argument presented is severely weakened.

Moreover, there is know evidence to maintain that, people who currently eat seafood in the established restaurants, will enjoy seafood in a new specialized restaurant. Success of a restaurant doesn’t depend only on the menu card. If the restaurant fails to prepare the seafood in ways palatable to the locals, it’s seafood rich menu card alone can’t keep it open for long. Without evidences of good cook, affordable price, preferably lower than the existing seafood offering restaurants, the argument presented is smothered with question marks.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now doesn’t hold much ground because of its reliance on unsubstantiated assumptions. If the author can provide more evidences based on more methodical research, it would be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.