"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

There are multiple fallacies and unexplained claims in the argument. The sample of 18 rhesus monkeys may not be a good representative of the whole rhesus species. A biased sample could have been drawn from the population. Like, for example, the group of scientists could have selected those monkeys that they saw were friendly or were easily caught and extracted from their natural habitat. Furthermore, there is no mention on the sufficiency of the sample of rhesus monkeys that were collected. It may be the case that only 18 monkeys could have been collected yet and the further process seemed to be futile, hence the experiment was initiated with only the 18 available monkeys.

The writer claims, in one of the stimulating conditions, the encounter with an unfamiliar monkey, but fails to provide evidence whether this encounter was among the 18 considered monkeys or was it like one of these 18 monkeys had an encounter with some random monkey. Also, it is pretty unclear whether both the monkeys were of rhesus species. Moreover, the monkey could have been familiar, in the first place, with the other monkey, before the monkey was collected but the scientists could have ignored this fact.

In the above argument, the writer claims that the cortisol hormone is produced in higher amounts when the new born results from the stimulating situations between the parents. There are only two mentioned stimulating situations. The writer fails to mention the exhaustive set of stimulating situations that were considered for the specific research. One could consider a particular situation as a stimulating situation while someone else may consider some other situation. Therefore, it is pretty unclear which set of stimulations can be considered as stimulating conditions.

The writer claims that in humans the stimulating conditions such as the return of a parent after an absence also produces high level of cortisol in the offspring. This arises an ambiguity regarding the duration of absence. There is no mention about how long a typical absence should be for a stimulating situation. The absence could be of 1 day, 1 week, or 1 month. It is, therefore, not necessary that in all the above cases, there could be a stimulating situation.