"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

As per the main conclusion of the author, firstborn (either humans or any other prime) produce higher levels of hormone cortisol in stimulating situations as compared to their younger siblings. The author came to this conclusion by taking reference from a recent study on rheses monkeys that showed that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. The same effects could be found to occur in firstborn humans and first time mother monkeys also have found to be producing higher levels of cortisol than they do in subsequent pregnancy's. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, there are some questions regarding the accuracy of the assumptions which need to be answered.

The cortisol activity of the monkey being studied was purely attributed to the fact it was a firstborn. No evidence is provided which can show that the monkey being studied was not suffering from any other health related issue which could be responsible for shooting up the cortisol levels. For example, mental and stress related disorders have been widespread among primates and as a result the higher cortisol levels could have developed due to enhanced levels of anxiety which can stimulate hormonal levels.

It has been stated in the prompt that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). No evidence has been provided to corroborate this argument. The increased levels of the cortisol can also be a result of attainment of maturity level i.e. before their siblings or it might be a result of emotional instability of the firstborn which is a mere psychological phenomenon and hence the cortisol rush could not be attributed to endocrine irregularities or abnormalities which are deemed to be present in humans as well as primates.

The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had several offspring. The increased levels of cortisol could also be attributed to the fact that first time mothers do not have enough experience to handle such a situation of pregnancy and may follow a inaccurate health and eating regime which could lead to such physiological abnormalities. Its important to understand the conditions under which these mothers were analyzed and hence more evidence must be provided to depict ideal conditions for conducting scientific study.

The agency which conducted the study is also not mentioned. This creates an unnecessary skeptism over the credulity of the facts stated above. Only agencies which are recognized by government or government organization themselves must be trusted with their research related results and conclusions.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. Hence more evidence is expected before a proper evaluation could be made. The testing conditions, state of the objects under study and credibility of the organization conducting the study must be properly analyzed before coming to conclusions. This can bolster trust and credibility in the evaluation and as a result a recommendation could be made or merely accepted.