A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The study as mentioned by author says that children living in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children staying in suburban area of United States. Also, the children in United States receive dental care for more then once in a year whereas people in Himalayan mountain region of Nepal rarely visit dentists. Even after considering the study to be true and valid, it can't be implied that regular dental care as the study neither talks about the climatic differences, water & air quality of United States & Himalayan region of Nepal nor does it talk about the differences in eating habits and type of foods consumed by children in discussed areas.

The Himalayan region of Nepal has fresh natural air and water coming from rivers directly while the United states suburban areas might be polluted. Floride, which I believe is the element if present in water causes tooth decay, causes the teeth to look yellow and other teeth issues. Since, the children in Himalayan region of Nepal consume fresh and natural water without any contamination or pollution from industries, the chances of presence of Floride in water in Nepal are very less compared to presence of Floride in water in suburban area of United States where several industries might be polluting the water, air or surrounding environment.

Moreover, the food habits of children and the type of food consumed by children on daily basis in Himalayan region of Nepal could be better than the food habits and the food children of United States have. In a mountainous region, it's not easier for companies like Dominos or Pizza-Hut to set up their outlets in Himalayan region of Nepal which is way easier to do in suburban reasons in United States. Thus, probability of children consuming such fast-foods in United States suburban areas is pretty higher than for children in Himalayan region of Nepal.

Therefore, with the help of two points mentioned above, it can be easily elucidated that since the conditions and habits for the children of suburban areas of United States and Himalayan region of Nepal widely differ, we can't conclude that dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Because of better natural resources, the children in Nepal might not need the dental care as required by children in United States. To clarify, it should be further investigated keeping these points in mind.