A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they "frequently" had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20% also reported that they had felt "sad, down, or blue" at least three times within the past month.

The argument is based on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to support them. It unwarrantingly assumes that a survey done for only a small group of people applies the result to everyone and summarilly disregards other important factors such as the self-reporting fact of the survey and differences between concentration problem and outright depression all of which is based on vague or ambiguous reasonings.

First of all, the survey is done for only a small group of people numbering 250 that only includes adults between 30 and 45. The number 250 by itself is very small to substantiate a claim of this grandiosity. One might ask, does just one survey on a small contingent of people prove its credibility for everyone. Even when this question is answered, we again need to know what percent of total population this 30 to 45 -year aged people consist of. If it is a very small number then the results of the survey remains questionable. If the survey can provide resonable answers to these questions, the truth to the link between online usage and depression may be more verifyable.

Secondly, the survey takes account of people who self-reported. Looking at the very small number of people on whom the survey was done, this number could be a very small fragment of an already small number itself. Furthermore, another question comes to mind. Which group of the people did the reporting? Maybe the people who used the internent more frequently were expansive by nature and only they were the ones who did the reporting. Or maybe, the online users who did the reporting are focussed on so many things at once that they have trouble concentrating as they have become accustomed to doing a lot of multitasking. Then it should come as no surprise that the ratio of people who uses online services more frequently is much higher to ones who don't use online services.

Finally, we need to keep in ming that concentration problem and depression are not the same thing. Also, the author says that those who reported had "frequent" concentration problems, but not "always", which can relate to the tasks they were performing during that time and have nothing to do with who uses online and who don't. Likewise, 20 percent of the people felt that they were depressed said that they were depressed during the last 3 months. We need to ask, did something unrelated to the internet happened that was the cause of depression? Or, were they depressed more frequently because they surfed the internet more often and came across depressing new more often? Again the responses of the 20 percent of only 250 people is a very small number to justify answers to all of these questions and thus far more evidences are required to substantiate the author's position.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unattended assumptions about the number of people surveyed, their proportion of age among all people and the relation between concentration problem and depression and untill further evidences are provided, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.