Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author’s explanation for a link between health and stair usage is that the moderate daily sport required of dwellers who have to use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity. However, there are some alternative explanations can undermine the conclusion.

To begin with, the arguer fails to establish the causal relationship between living in stairs-only apartment buildings and heath. It is highly possible that other factors can explain health. For instance, health might have resulted from nice sleep; Since the apartment located on a countryside, there are less noise than the building. It is also likely that residents who live in apartment have a regular exercise, whereas residents who live in building have no regular exercise because they are busy with work. Lacking evidence that links heath to living in apartment, it is presumptuous to suggest living in apartment was responsible for health.

Further, the author relies on study to suggest that elderly residents who live in building make twice as many visits to doctors as residents who live in apartment. However, this study does not mention the exactly number of patients. Specifically, 100 elderly patients who live in building visit to doctor regularly, and there are only totally 120 patients who are elderly. As a frail people, it is common to visit doctor as twice as young people per year. As a result, the study cannot represent the overall number of residents who live in building and apartment. Without preclude such an alternative explanation, the study is unreasonable to support the conclusion.

Even if the study that elderly residents who live in apartment visit to doctor as twice as residents who live in building has their merits, the report from doctor’s office could have an another explanation. The report asserts that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients. The sampling methodology must be concerned. It is possible that the number of respondents who live in building is ten times respondents who live in apartment. Thus, the report might lose its fairness. Without ruling out an alternative explanation, such as this, the report is unwarranted to support the conclusion.

To sum up, if author can offer that links heath to living in apartment, the exactly number of patients, and sampling methodology as pieces of cogent evidence, the conclusion could be more reasonable.