SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The argument stated three assumptions of why the Corporateville is a better location than Middlesburg. While it sounds valid, I think there are several fallacies in the statement that would suggest otherwise.

Firstly, one of the assumptions is that the recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg. There is a logical fallacy here in the assumption while it falsely assumed a causal relationship. The surge in the number of homeowners might not be caused by the fact that Corporatevill is superior but by som...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.