In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Mason City survey ranking the water sports as the favorite recreational activities and for this the state department will take a project of cleaning the river to eradicate the causes of low river usage. The author of the text argues that if the river is cleaned by the city government then the use of river for water sure to increase. It is clear from the passage that why the residents are eager to clean the river but the assumptions on which the argument is based has no strong evidence so the argument has several flaws.

Depending on the surveys the author has suggested that many city residents like water sports. But it is not said that how many residents participate in this survey. If only the people lives near the river is participated, then there arises a question about the validity of the surveys. If the passages says about the accurate number of people participate in survey and total number of people of the city then the assumption will be more valid.

Author talks about complains of resident about the odor and bad smell of the river to support his argument. But it is not clearly said that how much complains are submitted. If the numbers of complain is high, these can be complains of same people several times. Or it can be complains of a large number of people. But in the both cases complains are not represented the opinion of all people of Mason City. If that is the case, this assumption is unwarranted. And spend money for cleaning of river will be futile and people will not attracted toward the river sports.

The other assumption supporting the argument is that the account for low usage of river is pollution. But another reason can also be responsible for the low usage. For example, distance from the river, the high tide of the river etc. Then the cleaning of river will not affect so much.The main purpose for spending money will remain incomplete and will not increase usage of river.

In addition, here is another assumption on which author rests his most concentration to increase the allocation of money. The pollution of river, but the passage does not provide sufficient amount of evidence about the pollution whether it is manmade of natural. If it is manmade then it can be control. On the other hand, if it is natural then the allocation of money for the clean project will be a waste. For example, if there is leaching of toxic material from the bottom of the river, river cleaning will not able to eradicate the problem. Thus this assumption is not correct. If the author explain the cause of pollution then the argument will be more convincing.

All in all / In summary, for the allocation of money in river cleaning, author makes a series of assumption which is not backed by sufficient evidence and require more investigation. Without the proper investigation, the author argument cannot be accepted as valid. This inaccurate conclusion can lead state department to a huge loss.