The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The conclusion of the argument is too much strong with respect to the amount of information and evidence provided. The declaration of wildlife has a great impact on the extinct and extant animals.

It is not that there are no other sanctuaries which has allowed roads and public to pass on the borders. There are many sanctuaries worldwide which have allowed traffic to pass through them. They are able to control the speed of the traffic so that no animal gets killed by vehicles. Even heavy vehicles are allowed to pass through the sanctuaries with a caution that they have completed the pollution and noise control of their bogies.

How did millions of tufted groundhog survived till 2004 when there are humans who can harm them? Only declaring a wildlife century does not do the entire job. There have been many other efforts to preserve the species of importance.

The Neighboring Earstern Carpenteria had a similar sanctuary is vague. In what terms the author is measuring the similarity is not provided in the argument. It might had happened that the decline of population is due to weather, environmental changes because of global warming, etc. How much population declined is also not mentioned in the argument.

The repealing of sanctuary status of Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria could also have happened because of some other reasons. The author does not mention about how a sanctuary is qualified to leave its status.

In conclusion, the argument is too much strong and cannot be easily derived from the information provided. If all of the above knowledge would have been given, one could be able to decide that the road should be allowed to build or not.