Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

To decide if the recommendation is pragmatic, the anthropologists would need to answer questions such as: how many children were interviewed versus how many children were observed? Was there a certain group that was focused on during the observations/interviews or did the anthropologists involve different villages? Did the time difference influence the results?

The number of children who were observed/interviewed is influential because if there were various children who were observed when Dr. Field concluded that the entire village reared the children, he would have made a reliable conclusion. If there were only a few children who were observed, the conclusion is unreliable. Similarly, for Dr. Karp’s conclusion, the number of interviewees determines the dependability.

The villages that were involved would be an important question because different villages may have different traditions, some may use the whole village to raise the children and others may be fully dependent on the parents to raise the children on their own. If Dr. Field observed one village and Dr. Karp interviewed a different village, the villages may have not come from similar traditions.

One last thing to consider is the time difference. There was a gap of twenty years between the observations and the interviews of the anthropologists. This lucid difference in time may be the reason for the opposite results. Along the years, the villages may have developed modern child-rearing habits, they once relied on the entire village but now they have the parents responsible for bringing up their children. Just like in the United States, “times have changed” and the way in which children are raised now is changed from how they were previously raised.