"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument the author claims that opening a cafe in Monarch book store would attract customers. Additionally, he suggests to discontinue children's book section in order to free space for cafe as recent census indicates a significant decrease in percentage population under age ten. Apparently, it seems that the recommendation would prove fruitful for the Monarch bookstore, however, the author makes many unwarranted assumptions and many questions are left unanswered before inferring the conclusion.

First of all, the argument asserts without any reason that there would be an increase in customers if a cafe is opened. The author assumed it without providing any evidence and statistics. On the contrary, it could go the other way round. It is possible that the cafe's environment is too noisy for silence seeking costumers making it uncomfortable and unattractive for the readers. Or, thee costumers might dislike the coffee's taste and it might not be economically suitable. The author has not considered all these variables that might affect the number of costumers.

Secondly, the author predicts that abolishing children's book section would not affect the business as the percentage population of age under ten has declined significantly. However, the author has not considered the population of children living in the vicinity of the bookstore which might not have declined at all. Additionally, the author has assumed that the books in the children's sections are only pursued by children under age ten. Although, it is quite likely, that the books in the children section are used by teenagers as well which leaves the author wit no reason to suggest to discontinue the section.

In conclusion, the suggestions made by the arguments are based on assumptions and opening a cafe in the bookstore might not be attractive for customers