Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

This argument contends that the recent discovery of a type of woven basket in Lithos – a village near Palea - dismisses the long-held notion that attributed this type of basket to the Palean. This argument might look sound at the first glance. However, looking closer to the argument, one can realize that the it is far from cogent as it is void of concrete evidence to substantiate its claims.

To begin with, the argument presumes that the basket found in Lithos belong to the same historical era as those found in Palea. This assumption may or may not be true. The basket may have been woven years later than the ones that were previously found. This can be tested through employing dating methods on the texture of the basket. Also, the basket might have been moved to the new place much later that the era that they were made. In order to prove his assumption, the author should provide some evidence concerning the results of studies on age of rocks and sediments surrounding the basket in the layer of Earth it was found. The underground layer in which the basket is found can determine the time when the basket was moved to the place. With the help of methods like this, the author can strengthen his first assumption.

Even if it is proved through compelling evidence that the basket found in Lithos belongs to the same era as the ones found in Palea, the argument can still be weakened. The author underlines the fact that no Palean boats are found until this day. Nonetheless, this does not eliminate the possibility of finding a Palean boat in future. Indeed, it is so difficult, if not impossible, to predict something about the future discoveries of archaeology. Besides, the Palean boats, if existed, might have decomposed until now since the simplest boats (as might well have been the case in the prehistory) are usually made up solely of wooden materials and are easily decomposed in decades, let alone in a period more than a millennium. Accordingly, the author needs to provide persuasive evidence to solidify his/her assumptions. For instance, he/she can use information about the history of humidity of the place to rule out the possibility that the boats have been corroded. Besides, there is another possibility that the baskets were transformed to Lithos by the boats that belonged to Lithos, not Palean boats. Therefore, a set of comprehensive archaeological projects should be carried out in Lithos to ensure that the boats do not exist – and never existed – there. Only with these set of evidence the author can provide a solid basis for his assumption that the basket was not carried to Lithos.

Moreover, the argument has made another unwarranted assumption that the fact that there is a broad river in the way between Lithos and Palea implies that the sea existed there in the prehistory. This is too long a timespan to draw such a conclusion from. The Earth has undergone various climatic changes since prehistory including intermittent ice ages and periods of aridity. Possibly, that precise era might have been a time with no river or only a shallow, small river between the two villages to act as an insurmountable barrier for commutation of people without a boat. This evidence can weaken the argument critically.

Yet there is on other unjustified assumption that needs further evidence. According to the argument, the researchers have found one basket, which is not a representative sample to consider that It appeared in the new place by human intention rather than by incident. In fact, a myriad of reasons might account for such an incident; the basket could have been moved to the new place by the help of natural forces such as turbulent winds or floods or by floating on the water. In order for this argument to get cogent, more discovery projects should be conducted, whereby more baskets can be found to strengthen this argument.