Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Though argument put forward by the author is not compelling enough , it can be made more cogent by adding evidences which either corroborates or invalidates it’s claim. either way an analysis of evidence is much needed to make the argument more credible.

The first evidence that could weaken the argument is, if no more “palean” baskets are found in lithos village. this discovery would raise question against the assumptions that “palean” baskets were made in lithos village. On the basis of a solitary basket the claim made can’t be justified , as the culprit for transferring the palean basket to lithos village could be a drastic weather condition like a hailstorm or it could be rare travelers who crossed the river somehow.

Secondly if one proves that the brim river was not so deep and broad or to be precise shallow and narrow, or that it didn’t even prevail in the prehistoric time, it could mean that there was no obstruction between villages which is at odds with the assumption and therefore belies the conclusion or it could go other way round if it was proved that the river existed in the past and was flowing with the same vigor as it is now. many evidences related to the river if found could sway the argument in either direction. for eg, if remnants of other forms of transportation like a rope bridge or underground water caves are discovered by the archeologists which could make transaction possible between villages and consequently answer the question that how the transferral of palean basket took place. another such evidence could be a palean or even lithos boat or rather a part of boat founded by the archeologist. it also implies that trade between lithos and palean village was probable which in turn weakens the argument.

On the contrary if no evidence of boats or other forms of transport are discovered it could mean that there was no possibility of any sort of exchange between villages ,which would strengthen the argument. Furthermore if the archeologist discovered more palean basket in location nowhere near the palean or the lithos village , it could only mean that the baskets were not unique and endemic to palean village.

The evaluation of the above mentioned evidences could present the argument in new light and can offer profound and helpful insights into the argument.