Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument claims that woven palean baskets were not originally palean as they were found in another village across the deep, broad Brim river. This claim might sound logical but if the statement is perused carefully, it is clear that the author has not considered some important evidence before inferring the conclusion. Thus, the argument is based on fallacious reasoning.

First of all, the author cites that no boats were found in the palean village hence inferring that there was not any mean the two villages could have been connected through. However, there is a possibility that the palean boats might have existed and later on destroyed due to climatic and environmental changes. Thus, the argument is missing the evidence of environmental changes that might have disintegrated the boats. Besides, there might be modes of crossing the river other than boats such as water vessels. Archeologists should also search for any kind of water vessel as it could weaken or strengthen this argument.

Secondly, it is possible that the Brim river might have been shallower or even non-existent in the past, thus, providing a land route between the two villages. Hence this argument assumes that the Brim river was before as it is now and without entertaining the evidence of topographical changes the conclusion is deduced. Therefore, topographical evidence should also be documented in order to strengthen the argument.

Finally, the palean baskets might have been carried away by flood if there were any in the history of the villages. So, the argument should also provide the evidence that there were not any floods in the past in order to make it more logical and less prone to attacks.

In conclusion, the argument presented is fallacious lacking basic evidence to claim whether the baskets were or were not of palean origin