23. Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is the job of the government to ensure that an environment of peace and tranquality is maintained in the area under it's governence. For this purpose, government makes rules and restrictions that are supposed to be followed by everyone, be it a big cooperation or an individual. Government places similar restrictions on the organizations undertaking scientific research and development. The claim presented states that these restrictions should be minimized, if not completely abolished.

It is true that any kind of scientific research will flourish if there are no restrictions placed on the one undertaking that research. Without any restrictions, the person's imagination is free to explore all the possible solutions to any problem he/she faces. For example, without any restrictions, a person doing a research on the cure of a disease is free to experiment with any disease he/she considers appropriate. This opens a plethora of options for the researcher, any of which could be taken.

Form the example above, it seems that there is no need for government to place any kind of rules and regulations on scientific research and development. However, this is not true. Suppose one of the possible cure for the disease in the example above has deadly side-effects, then it becomes the duty of the government to put a restriction on the testing of that drug on humans.

There are other scenarios where the restrictions placed by government on scientific research can be aptly justified. Government needs to place restrictions on the research on any such technology which can be dangerous in the hands of general public. Research on technologies like nuclear weapons, arms and ammunition, etc are not something that can be taken up by any random individual. In such scenarios, government restriction on their research makes

In conclusion, I do not fully agree with the given recommendation. Yes, an absence of restrictions may help increase the pace of research and help us discover new domains but these restrictions are there to ensure the safety and security of every individual. In my opinion, the cost of revmoving restrictions is not worth the price.