All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement attempts to assert that all students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign university. It is certainly true that, by studying some time in foreign university, students can have a greater opportunity to gather diverse knowledge, but all student would benefit from that is too extreme to comply with.

The main focus of a college or university student is to get specialized knowledge in any particular field. It is certainly true that all the faculties and fields of an university is not enough strong to lend sufficient support to their students on that specific field. So, it would be beneficial for them to spend at least a semester in a foreign university, where that university can offer a better facility for the student on that specific subject. For example, in Bangladesh, engineering universities are not that much equipped to facilitate students in the field of genetic engineering. Therefore, if a student spend a semester in a foreign university of Malaysia, where they can have a congenial environment to study at that field as they have better resource and research facility. But, at the same time, we can not deny the fact that, a single semester of only 6 months is not enough to get into the deep of a subject or research. Nevertheless, the student can have some other benefit like, what type of research are going on in his study field in recent time, what is the best technology at the present time and how they are being used for better education.

Additionally, cultural benefits are also an extra advantage because of that type of initiatives, students get to know different culture and are more likely to break out the provincial view toward the world. Moreover, that type of student exchange program strengthen the relationship between countries and pave the way of future cooperation as one day those students will lead the world.

On the contrary, it is not always feasible to hope that all the student can afford to go for study in a foreign university as there are some other factors governing the situation. Financial condition is one of the major drawbacks, as in the developing countries higher education is not most of the time affordable late alone spending money for a foreign university. It would be more beneficial for the student of a poor family, to save that money required to study in a foreign country, and spend it to educate the other members of his family. Sometimes, students can have better facility in his university and thus make needless to search for better research facility. For instance, for a student of MIT, it would be more beneficial for him to concentrate in research projects going on in his university as they are providing better facilities in most of the fields than other foreign countries.

So, to conclude, students can get a huge benefit by studying sometime in a foreign university but that does not mean that it is feasible in every situation.