All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The question of balance between absorbing internal and external advice for the growth of business company has received increased attention in the recent decades. Take the question at hand, the necessity and effect of hiring of consultants from outside the company in order to assist the operation of the company are under great scrutiny. While some people may suggest that listening to the company's own staff, who presumably are more familiar with the operation of their company, can fully waive the need of hiring outside consultants, I believe the outside specialties can nonetheless become greatly helpful for the company in multiple ways that employees of the company can not provide, and it can be supported by several reasons as follows. First and foremost, consultants are specialties whose work fully focus on facilitating companies in certain fields to achieve perform smooth operations and scientifically growing. Typically, they spend tons of time learning about the trend of the business and the tendency of various companies in the same field, and studying on the experience and success of their operations, while employees of one company are required to prioritize their own daily work and have limited time on exploring the fad of the industry. For example, consultants who work with those newly emerged private companies might have accumulated numerous experience about how to operate the budding company to obtain large amount investment from the investors, while the employees in the new company are most interns and recently started young staff with barely any knowledge of the operation of the company and the rules of the business. In that case, hiring professional consultants from consultation service would definitely be a smarter move for the company. Furthermore, it is undeniable that employees who spend all of their time working inside the company are the group of people who know about the details of the company, such as functions of the departments, cooperation pattern between different project groups and of course, the advantage and disadvantage of their own company. However, it doesn't necessarily mean that the consultants would be utterly unnecessary. On the contrary, the employees can communicate with the consultants to help them understand the muscle and bones of a company in a short amount of time and assist them to develop a better plan for the company's operation and long-term growth. There is no, and should be no boundary between listening to employees and hiring outside consultants. In fact, for the operators of the company, it is wise to spend more time to hearing from their own person, while still receive the help from outside. In a nutshell, although listening to the employees are a basic requirement for the leaders of the company for a smoother and more efficient operation of their company, the help from outside consultants cannot be totally ignored. As mentioned, consultants are specialties with profound knowledge of the industry and are capable to provide opinion from a objective perspective of view, which are unique advantages that employees cannot provide. Take all into consideration, I suggest that companies should hire consultant while still spending enough time to listening from their employees, in order to better operate the company and achieve a future success.